Accessibility Tools

Be Brave Curriculum

Be Brave Curriculum

  • Please note:  Each year groups current Learning Experience and Knowledge Organiser can be found on their class page under the CLASSES tab on the menu bar above

The Be Brave Curriculum at Hayfield Cross

The Be Brave Curriculum at Hayfield Cross is underpinned by the National Curriculum (2014) which is enhanced with planned opportunities that make up the wider school curriculum. The Be Brave Curriculum was redesigned and launched in September 2019.  The curriculum is fundamentally based on developing the children’s Knowledge, Skills and Understanding and applying this in their learning. 

Learning is exciting and delivered in a meaningful context for children. Where commonality exists and where aspects of learning are linked, lessons are taught using a cross-curricular approach. Where links are not appropriate or cohesive, subjects are taught discretely.  Every day, all children are taught in discrete lessons of English and Maths.  All children engage in daily learning where they develop their phonics, SPaG (Spelling Punctuation and Grammar), reading and comprehension skills in addition to developing a command of all aspects of the English language. These, along with Maths are applied throughout the curriculum.

Foundation subjects are taught through three over-arching themes (Time travellers, All God’s Creatures, Intrepid Explorers) with key knowledge for all subjects embedded within these.  The whole learning experience is greatly enriched by ‘buzz points’ each term which provide extended opportunities such as event days, trips, visitors, performances etc.  There are also whole school and phase events that are designed to bring learning to life for the children.  Computing is taught and used to support the whole curriculum. 

RE is taught following The Diocese of Peterborough Syllabus and The Church of England’s ‘Understanding Christianity’ resources.  As a Church of England School our Christian values of Joy, Integrity and Fellowship underpin all that we do and support the children in developing their understanding of spirituality as well as their academic selves. 

Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (SMSC) is an integral part of the curriculum and is delivered both through direct teaching in lessons and collective worship as well as through a wide range of extended enrichment opportunities with event days, educational visits and residential trips for Year 4 and Year 6.

British Values are interwoven through the curriculum and as part of Class Reflection.  As part of this we learn about the basic British values (DfE 2014) of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance for those of different faiths and beliefs.  Our intent is to support our children to prepare them as future citizens of modern Britain who treat others with respect and acceptance, regardless of background.

At Hayfield Cross children develop a strong moral compass in addition to a respect and understanding of people who have different characteristics to themselves, whether that be religion, age, disability, gender, race or sexuality. A rigorous, well planned curriculum in an ethos of care, guidance and support enables our pupils to be well rounded, empathetic young people who have a thirst for learning and respect for all around them.  Reflection is a key part of the curriculum with many opportunities to think about themselves and the world around them which are recorded in class RED (Reflect, Explore, Discover) books.

Sport and physical activity are important and a wide range of opportunities are available to all of the children.  P.E. is an essential part of the curriculum and different elements are taught by teachers and specialist sports coaches where appropriate.  Active learning is encouraged and opportunities are sought by teachers to enhance children’s learning both within and outside the classroom.  The school provides a rich variety of extra-curricular opportunities for active development including a range of specialist sports clubs.  These are available to all children and are hosted at school.

 At Hayfield Cross Church of England School, we have planned our school curriculum accordingly to ensure that we meet the aims and statutory requirements of the most recent National Curriculum. 

Curriculum Aims

  • Inspire children to develop a love of learning both in school and beyond the classroom.
  • Support children to understand themselves as a child of God and enjoy and appreciate the world around them.
  • Develop children’s knowledge and understanding throughout the curriculum and give opportunities for them to recall and apply this in their learning.
  • Embed skills to prepare children for life in modern Britain.
  • Develop children to become independent, self-motivated and reflective learners who have a sense of responsibility for their own learning and development.
  • Provide children with a moral and spiritual compass.
  • Grow children who understand the importance of perseverance, resilience and tolerance.
  • Learn to value others, their views, cultures and beliefs.

Teaching and Learning at Hayfield Cross

Quality First Teaching is at the heart of all learning at Hayfield Cross.  Through rigorous ongoing assessments teachers have a broad understanding of the children’s needs and abilities and differentiate learning to support them to make good progress.  Teachers and Teaching Assistants provide whole class, small group and individualised learning to support all children.  There is an emphasis and expectation placed on children developing independent, collaborative and problem-solving learning skills to ensure they are highly effective life-long learners.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The children in Reception will be following the EYFS curriculum.  To ensure understanding and to build a firm foundation for future years many of the activities will be of a practical nature which provides a rich context for children to select, make decisions and solve problems.  The school day is structured around focused one to one, small group and class learning opportunities alongside broad opportunities for the children to free-flow independently to explore, play, discover and learn.  The Early Years Foundation Stage is organised into seven areas of learning that we use to plan their learning and development in:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Communication and Language.
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Development.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

Key Stages 1 and 2

After the EYFS the children move into Key Stage 1 comprising of Years 1 and 2.  When they are 7 years old (Years 3-6) they will be in Key Stage 2.  Key Stage 1 and 2 children are immersed in a broad and balanced curriculum filled with rich learning experiences alongside focused core learning of English and Maths every day.  The curriculum is organised into termly themes making learning meaningful, engaging and fun.